Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2011

Who will be participating?

  • United States of America
  • West Indies
  • Pakistan
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Netherlands
  • Zimbabwe
  • Ireland
  • Japan
  • Bangladesh

How did we get here?

Team USA finished second to Canada in the its first ICC Americas Championship outing held in Florida in 2009, setting the stage for a 3-match series to determine the Americas representative for the global qualifiers. 

In July 2010, USA white-washed Canada to earn a spot in the Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifiers to be held in Bangladesh later this year.

Where is our destination?

India 2013! India will be hosting the Women’s Cricket World Cup in 2013. The top four teams from the Women’s Cricket World Cup 2009 have qualified automatically. They are:

  • England
  • New Zealand
  • India
  • Australia

The Women’s Cricket World Cup is the pinnacle event for any serious female cricketer. Team USA has its eyes set on Bangladesh but recognizes that it’s only a stopover to India. 

Photo courtesy: Bryan Vandenburg/ICC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *