ICC Americas Women’s Cricket Championship starts today

The ICC Americas women’s championship will be played in Florida starting May 18. Five teams – Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Bermuda, and USA will play in the tournament.

The first four teams took part in the 2008 championship, which was won by Canada. In addition to the new entrant USA, this year will also see a development squad from Trinidad & Tobago take part in the tournament.

The teams will play Twenty20s on Days 1 and 2 and 40-over games following that. The top two teams in the 40-over competition will progress to the next stage – a three-day series to be played in 2010.

Although women’s cricket in USA dates back to at least 1896, USA has seen very little organized women’s cricket during the last two decades. Recently, Seattle has led the way and, following the Seattle women’s example, several new women’s programs have been launched including two in California last month. Programs were initiated in New York/NJ area earlier in the year.

In order to kick-start women’s cricket and to enable selection of a team for ICC Americas Championship, USACA organized its inaugural women’s cricket championship in March 2009 which was won by the East Coast.

Although Canada is the most experienced side in the tournament, USA cannot be taken lightly – several on the USA team have experience with first class or international cricket.

Courtesy: www.dreamcricket.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *